## **Graduate Council Meeting Minutes**

Wednesday, November 2, 2022, Noon to 1:00 PM Room 209 Computer Science & Zoom

Meeting called to order at 12:01 pm

- 1. Roll Call (Completed in-person and via Zoom Chat and Zoom Participant features)
  - Present: See Attached Roll Call List (page 2)
  - Invited Guests: R. Glaser, D. Reardon, S. Sundaramoorthy
  - Other Guests/Attendees: L. Eng, K. Shepherd, J. Sinnott, S. Matson, E. Reven, A. Smith
- 2. Consent Agenda
  - a. Approval of Minutes from October 5, 2022 Meeting
  - b. D. Oerther updated on the status of (i) Ad hoc Rules and Regulations Committee (ii) Ad hoc Stipend X Committee (iii) Sub-committee for Graduate Student Success and Creation of a Graduate Student Academic Year Performance Form; and invited nominations for drafting the Graduate Student Success and Academic Year Performance forms.
  - S. Stanley moved to approve; I. Ivliyeya seconded. Unanimous approval by raising of hands in-person and on Zoom
- 3. The following nominees were elected for the End of Year Awards Committee representing graduate faculty and a staff member from the graduate program/office: Dr. Gayla Olbricht, Dr. Serhat Hosder, Dr. Clair Kueny, Dr. Hongxian Zhang, Karen Walberg.
  - S. Stanley motioned to approve; M. Thimgan seconded; Unanimous approval by raising of hands inperson and on Zoom
- 4. D. Oerther updated on Revising of the Sections III and IV of the Graduate Faculty Rules and Regulations to Include Additional Requirements for Full Membership Renewal (proposed additions: C.3. He or she shall have shown evidence of encouraging and implementing the scholarly work of those studying beyond the Baccalaureate degree. Examples of such evidence may consist of: III.C. a. Testimonials of graduate students who have completed coursework; III.C. b. Evaluations of graduate student mentoring; III.C.c. Appropriate peer-reviewed publications co-authored with graduate students).
  - There are generally positive comments on the proposed rules and regulations. There were discussions on whether the proposed rules would apply to the new faculty and other generally positive comments.
  - S. Sedighsarvestani proposed to amend that the rule III.C.a be replaced by "Evidence of quality teaching at the graduate level".
  - S. Sedighsarvestani motioned to approve; C. Dagli seconded. Unanimous approval by raising of hands inperson and on Zoom.
- 5. M. Thimgan updated on the Revising the Graduate Catalog to include Comprehensive Examination for the Master of Science degree without Thesis.
  - M. Thimgan pointed out that some departments currently have a 3-person committee to conduct the comprehensive exam. During the discussions it was commented that certain departments do not require comprehensive exam and it was suggested that the proposed rules can be modified according to each of the departmental guidelines.
  - M. Thimgan moved to approve; S. Stanley seconded. Unanimous approval by raising of hands in-person and on Zoom

- 6. M. Thimgan presented on Revised Proposal from Ad hoc Committee for Removing Advisor/Committee Member (Creation of contingency procedure for authorizing the unilateral removal of an advisor/member).
  - M. Thimgan, on behalf of the ad hoc committee, moved to approve; No second needed.
  - There were points raised as to how to many such incidences of changing the graduate committee members/advisors have occurred in the past, although there were no clear statistics available immediately.
  - Approved by raising of hands in-person and on Zoom (Abstained:1; Opposed: 1)

## 7. New Business: None

Meeting Adjourned at 1:00 pm

Program/Department	Name	Present	Designee Present
Aerospace Engineering	Serhat Hosder	Х	
Biological Sciences	Matt Thimgan	X	
Applied Mathematics	Gayla Olbricht	**	Akim Adekpedjou
Arts, Language, & Philosophy*	Irina Ivliyeva	Х	
Business Administration (MBA)	Sarah Stanley	Х	
Ceramic Engineering	Aditya Kumar	Х	
Chemical Engineering	Jee-Ching Wang		
Chemistry	Manashi Nath	Х	
Civil Engineering	Jianmin Wang	Х	
Computer Engineering	Sahra Sedighsarvestani	Х	
Computer Science	Sanjay Madria	Х	
Economics*	Yishu Zhou	X	
Electrical Engineering	Chang-Soo Kim	Х	
Engineering Management	Steven Corns	**	Cihan Dagli
Environmental Engineering	Jianmin Wang	Х	
Explosives Engineering	Kyle Perry	Х	
Geological Engineering	Katherine Grote	Х	
Geology and Geophysics	Wan Yang		
Geotechnics	Jeffrey Cawlfield	**	Katherine Grote
History and Political Science*	Michael Meagher	Х	
Industrial-Organizational Psychology	Vahe Permzadian	Х	
Information Science & Technology	Cecil Chua	Х	
Manufacturing Engineering	Frank Liou		
Materials Science & Engineering	Aditya Kumar	Х	
Mathematics	Akim Adekpedjou	Х	
Mechanical Engineering	Xiaodong Yang	Х	
Metallurgical Engineering	Aditya Kumar	Х	
Mining Engineering	Lana Alagha	**	Kyle Perry
Nuclear Engineering	Ayodeji Alajo		
Petroleum Engineering	Baojun Bai		
Physics	Daniel Fischer	Х	
Systems Engineering	Cihan Dagli	Х	
Technical Communication	Edward Malone	X	

Officer Position	Name	Present	
Chair	Dan Oerther	Х	
Secretary	V. Prakash Reddy	Х	
Parliamentarian	Sarah Stanley	Х	